30 Days of Thankful – Day 9

Day 9: For being cancer-free

Almost 17 years ago, I was diagnosed with acute myelomonocytic leukemia

After two courses of intense chemotherapy and a grueling bone marrow transplant filled with complications, I earned the status “cancer-free.Every day I have an increasing appreciation for being where I am today, 16 years cancer-free. I will never be free of the effects of cancer and cancer treatment. However, I have enjoyed 16 amazing years that I wouldn’t have otherwise experienced, which included:

high school,

college,

marrying my best friend, 

and the birth of our three miracle babies.

I recognize that the past 16 years were a gift and I am thankful beyond words.
Leave a Reply

